In our portal you can book a shipment in 2 different ways; via the ‘Book’-button or the ‘Print’-button.
When you click Book the shipment is being booked but the label is not be printed yet, so to print the label you will also have to click Print. However, this can be done faster, because the ‘Print’-button is equivalent to book + print, so you can book the shipment and print the label with just 1 click.
The above applies to when you click on Book or Print from within the shipment. It works slightly different from the ‘Manage shipments’ overview. When you select a shipment in the overview and click Print, the shipment is not being rebooked but only a print action is executed.
The difference between these buttons is especially important for online connections that work with order cancellations via e-mail. In these connections a PDF-file is being send to the carrier when a shipment is cancelled or rebooked. This way, the carrier knows that they can remove the order from their system or overwrite it with a new order.
When you first use the ‘Book’-button while booking with these carriers and then the ‘Print’-button, a booking will be made and a cancellation email will be sent immediately after that, followed by a new booking.
To prevent these carriers from receiving 2 bookings for 1 shipment, of which the 1st is being cancelled, there are several options:
- If you want to book a shipment and immediately print the label, just use the ‘Print’-button. In this way, the shipment is booked once and you immediately receive the label.
- If you want to book a shipment and print the label later, only use the ‘Book’-button when creating the shipment. You can print the label later by selecting the shipment in Manage shipments and clicking Print at the top of the overview.
- If you want to book a shipment, print the label immediately and print the label again later, just use the ‘Print’-button. First during the creation of the shipment and later from the Manage shipments overview.